Redmarketer

June 13, 2008

Letting Go

Filed under: Random, School — Robert John Ed @ 2:27 pm

I have two weeks left. I have a website project to complete that simply can’t be finished in that amount of time. I’ll probably be working in July in order to finalize it, which is OK.

With the end date looming, it’s becoming harder and harder to think of actually leaving. For one, I’m a restless soul who NEEDS to be active in order to maintain sanity. So I’ll be outside exercising and inside reading (ordered two college text books on sociology and psychology, still trying to learn French-which has fallen off in the last month, and have a stack of ten other classic lit pieces: Twain, Voltaire, Hemingway, Faulkner, etc.) and trying to catch up with friends I haven’t seen in a while. Exciting times.

Secondly, I need to get mentally prepared for school. That means chilling out a bit, updating my resume, looking into extracurriculars, investigating studying abroad, figuring out the metro bus system, checking out new apartments and a few other miscellaneous tasks. This is all a bit nerve racking, I’m a creature of habit and large amounts of change tend to shake me up.

The hardest part right now is letting go of the marketing at my job. I’ve spent three years working here and building a system. It’s certainly not perfect, but just letting the reins loose and walking away is much harder than I had thought it would be. And I’m still two weeks away. I have a feeling as though my first child is staying over at someone’s house for the first time. Lame. I’ll probably be checking up on the situations way too often initially. Gah. GAH. All this time I’d been ecstatic about getting on to the next chapter and now I’m leery to turn the page.

Yet, I feel a lot of things are changing for the better right now. More than just work and school, but everything. The winds are altering, sails full.

Only time can tell. That’s life I suppose.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

