Redmarketer

June 27, 2008

Last Official Day

Filed under: Random — Robert John Ed @ 8:22 pm

Today was my last “official” day at my job. I’ll actually be coming in a few days in July to finish up designing a website, orchestrating a new catalog and a new product launch; but for the whole of it, my time at the first job after college is drawing to an end.

I’m somewhat ambivalent to the whole situation. It is incredibly exciting to be preparing for school once more, there are so many opportunities and things to accomplish. Meeting new class mates, developing additional skills, case competitions, student organizations and studying overseas (sweet merciful awesome let this happen.) There is no doubt in my mind this will be an unbelievable opportunity and life altering experience.

Yet, moving on has some negative connotations for me as well. The company I work for didn’t have a marketing department before I started (or for a while afterward) and so everything that is in place now had to be constructed from scratch. So it occurs to me that I may never have the chance to build something like this again (though it’s certainly not out of the question). Also, I feel like the company is primed for growth and development exponentially in the next few years. It’s a bummer to not necessarily be part of that new growth. Seeing something through to the end is very important to me, and that’s simply impossible in many career situations. People don’t spend 40 or 50 years with one company any more, for good reason.

In a few weeks or months, none of this will mean much. But today, today another thing altogether.

I’ll end with this quote from Anatole France:

All changes, even the most longed for, have their melancholy; for what we leave behind us is a part of ourselves; we must die to one life before we can enter another.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

