Redmarketer

July 10, 2008

Knowledge Quest

Filed under: Personal Branding, Philosophy, Random, School — Robert John Ed @ 3:39 am

As I age, I’m ever more interested in psychology, sociology, philosophy and science in general. (Check out this hot hot heat!) So what does that interest mean? I don’t know.

I’ve always had a penchant for sociology. I don’t know why I found it so interesting, maybe because I always thought about the way we interacted in school and why certain people were popular, shy, outgoing, respected and otherwise. It just intrigued me. That parlayed into marketing and a career in business.

But what seems of note is that so many people go to school to study the things that I’m really starting to study right now. What does that mean? I think it means that I was extremely pragmatic about my education initially. If I could do anything, it would be an author. Of just what I’m unsure, but that’d be my choice. The English language holds particular appeal to me, and something there is that loves a sentence. But the harsh reality of growing up relatively poor set a tone for what work was for. First and foremost, work is to survive and eventually thrive. So business was the answer. And will continue to be so through the foreseeable.

Now that I’m reaching some modicum of success, the other frivolities are accessible. I’m a bit jealous of people that chose to pursue philosophy, literature, psych, etc. Those seem very intellectually challenging and worthwhile. Then again, many people who begin studying in such subjects actually end up in business.

This is the part where I segue into how valuable business is in relation to those subjects. The respective value of businesses and sciences, in addition to their respective interdependence. And that is far too large a subject to get into right now. Some other time.

1 Comment »

  1. […] – bookmarked by 4 members originally found by SSJDarkFlare on July 19, 2008 Knowledge Quest https://redmarketer.wordpress.com/2008/07/10/knowledge-quest/ – bookmarked by 3 members originally […]

    Pingback by Bookmarks about Knowledge — August 1, 2008 @ 11:45 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

