Redmarketer

August 1, 2008

Relaxation, Reflection and Reinvention

Filed under: Random, School — Robert John Ed @ 3:46 pm

Some day when I’m awfully low, when the world is cold, I will feel aglow just thinking of you…and the way you look tonight.

School is a mere 10 days away and I’m making the most of my time off, listening to Frank in the morning.  I’ve been reading a lot, a few books I’ll review here soon.  But also, I’ve just been reflecting on my path the last few years.  It’s only natural to wonder where you’ll end up.  As of now, I’m pretty happy with the way things are going, and I am fired up about school as well.  For whatever reason, the school environment has always been good for me.

This is a new level of schoolin’ though.  I attended St. Cloud State four years and loved it, but this is a cut above the fold.  The facilities, professors and most importantly the network are all on another level.  And don’t get me wrong, I met some incredible, intelligent people at SCSU; I met some of my best friends there.  This network is full of people who are taking an additional step, not to mention a large investment, in their education; it’s a populace of people who are very similar to me.  I feel from orientation and other interactions that we will all have A LOT in common and build some really great relationships, as well as projects and work.  I think that the synergy there will be very high, and I couldn’t be much more excited.

Also, I get to start riding the bus!  No more driving to Mound every day from Uptown (translation: it sucks).  And I’m getting a new apartment, my own place again.  I lived on my own for two years in college.  I found that much more was accomplished when I lived on my own; not sure why, but I think it’s the fact that there isn’t anyone to just sit and talk with, so you work.

This whole thing feels like a reinvention, a revolution.  In truth it’s much more evolution than anything.  I don’t know about everyone else, but it seems like change is necessary for me every few years.  Drastic change allows me to get excited about life again, to reward all the hard work that’s been done in the past.  It’s a great big dive into all the work, though.  The first and second semesters of school are absolutely packed, 9 classes.  It lightens up a bit after that, but those are the times you have to start trying to find a job to pay off the six figure debt you accumulated.  No rest for the sipid.  And certainly no white picket.  Invigorating, this path we walk along.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

