Redmarketer

August 19, 2008

Accounting, 15 Hour Days, Etc.

Filed under: Random, School — Robert John Ed @ 4:28 am

Pretty sure this will be the norm.

Just got home and it was a fracking hot bike ride.  Minneapolis is lovely at night, though I could use some illuminations on my trusty steed for a safer go.

Went in to school at 7am and got back about 10 minutes ago.  That’s roughly 15 hours.  We are almost to the point of actual classes, and I’m excited.  Despite it all, I look forward to real classes because they offer some ebb and flow; a cadence and respiration.  Right now, we are in eight hour information broadcast sessions.  It drains, no matter the prolific professor and her ability.  I genuinely believe that my time online and learning on my own has warped my ability to contemplate and soak up information broadcast to me.  It’s not that I’m no longer able, I just prefer the interactive alternative when in groups.  Learning in groups and challenging peers (while being challenged) is the best way to learn.  Doing so while the peer group is “in charge” is easier for my generation.  The younger generations will only proliferate this tendency to learn as such.

Sure, it could be that as adults work within roles deviating from that of the traditional student (IE the real world), their learning processes alter as well.  That very well probably is part of the situation, but there’s something more here.  If I were to get a doctorate, I’d focus on the significance of progressively more interactive media affecting student cognition of subject matter with attribution to info taught in broadcast format as opposed to interactive formats.  Putting the onus on the student to develop and teach themselves and classmates is not easy at young ages, for a bevy of reasons such as social inability and insecurity, attention deficit, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles and delicious cookies.  Still, children today are advancing in their information seeking for the simple reason that the tools have proliferated to the point where anyone on earth can CHOOSE to learn anything they want.

There will be some incredible young people who take advantage of the information supernova and become polymath virtuosos.  *Sigh*.  I want to be a polymath, dammit.

/tangent

It took me 3 hours to read and interpret 2 chapters of accounting.  Kind of sad.  Whatevs.  I know what I got myself into.  It’s going to be a lot of work.  It’s supposed to be a lot of work.  I’m paying a lot of opportunity cost and expect to be tested.  Besides, work’s good.  It’s all I know.  And I can always listen to this and drink that in the humidity, smiling at the irreverence of it all.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

