Redmarketer

August 20, 2008

Uh Oh Spaghettios! Xcel Diatribe

Filed under: Marketing Philosophy, Random, School — Robert John Ed @ 6:22 pm

Epic fail on procuring second loan. Looks like Xcel Energy gets the last laugh:

Two years ago, I moved out of an apartment on 32nd and Blaisdell. I forgot to tell Xcel to stop charging me for electricity, which is completely my fault. I moved out and they continued to charge me for electricity, unbeknownst to me. A month or so later I got a call from a collections agency stating that I owed $111 for the electricity I’d accrued (and the electricity the new tenants were using). After stating that I’d only pay the amount I owed up until my move out, the collections agency threatened me with “I hope you don’t get burned by this….” I felt threatened and called Xcel to complain about my treatment. This is the call that will prove hazardous. I spoke with a manager (of some kind, my luck it was a janitorial manager) about how the collections agency was trying to get me to pay for electricity that I didn’t use. The manager told me that everything would be fine and not to worry about it.

In looking back that was a foolish thing, on my part. I should have fully resolved the issue.

Fast forward to November, 2007. I’m buying a car. I go into the bank and try to set up a loan. A week later I get a phone call, my credit score dropped. This is odd, seeing as the last time I met with a personal banker she told me to come see her if I wanted to buy a house.

Turns out, the debt collections agency Xcel had hired filed a public notice on me! Despite being assuaged by Xcel management earlier. So I worked through that with the bank and got a loan anyway. It took about five calls with Xcel to explain the predicament, I paid $65 with our dual acknowledgment (with verification from my landlord) of when I’d moved out. After speaking with and verifying that the account would be cleared, everything seemed back on the mend.

Fast forward to today. One of my two loans was denied! That money is pretty important, seeing as it will allow me to continually procure food and shelter. Now, I’ll have to work out some other form (probably with a cosigner) because Xcel has STILL not cleared up my account. They’ve lied to me many times. It sucks. I know this sounds like a sob story, but we’re talking about $45 outstanding on account (that I didn’t actually use) stopping me from getting the loans I need. For what it’s worth, I’ve already prematurely paid off over $13,000 in loans in the last three years. Yet a $45 “late” charge is hindering me. This is what happens when corporations fail to finish what they start.

Xcel Energy, you suck. Thanks for continually assuring me everything would be taken care of and doing nothing of the sort. It’s uncaring monopolies such as yourself that give corporations a horrible name.

4 Comments »

  1. Dude, not cool. It’s amazing how one thing can hurt/ruin your credit. Is your credit rating hurting? You should think about getting one of the free credit reports out there to see if there’s anything else. My Mom did one, it was completely legit. I’ll ask her which one she did.

    Comment by Jason — August 20, 2008 @ 10:27 pm

  2. Yes it is equivalent to total wackness. I’m going to get a cosign for the loan, and hopefully call Xcel about it tonight. Unneeded tasks aren’t what I’m all about right now.

    Comment by Robert John Ed — August 20, 2008 @ 10:31 pm

  3. Bob, I bought a camera at Radio Shack for $350. In an effort to boost my credit, I decided to buy on credit and pay for it each month. (I really didn’t need to). I paid the first 4 or 5 months at like $30..easy payment right? Then the bills stopped coming. After noticing I didn’t get a bill I called Radio Shack. They said, sorry one will be coming. It never came, I said this is stupid, i am going to go pay this off, and did.

    So I go to buy a house, Um Mr Ruppel, your credit score is pretty low, it says here you couldn’t pay on a $225 balance of a camera?

    WHAT? I tried to get it off and they said it was too late and I didn’t pay, that’s what the computer says..you didn’t pay..

    So I have higher monthly payments because somebody couldn’t figure out how to get me a bill…
    F-radio shack.

    Comment by grahamandkellsey — August 21, 2008 @ 4:49 pm

  4. Another wack siting. Wack.

    Comment by Robert John Ed — August 21, 2008 @ 6:03 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

