Redmarketer

October 3, 2008

Convenient Store

Filed under: Marketing Tactics — Robert John Ed @ 12:57 pm

Woke up in the middle of the night and couldn’t swallow.  I only have one day to get through before the weekend and figure I can power through it.

I stopped by a convenience store on the way to school and looked for cough drops.  I need them badly.

Just my luck, none on display.

I ask the clerk if they have any I missed.  She looks around, says “I don’t see any, but let me see.”  She checked the displays and then gave me a zinc tablet out of her own purse!  The other clerk went in back and emerged with a bag of Halls Vitamin C lozenges.  She said “These aren’t in the system, but we’ll sell them to you for $1.99, just don’t tell anyone because we aren’t supposed to do this!”

Customer advocacy pays dividends in the long run.  Even if they didn’t have anything, the fact that they put in the effort to actually look tells a lot about these people.  It’s funny how most people think marketing is advertising campaigns and logos and tag lines.

The real value of marketing is how you treat the people that come into your businesses, every day.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

