Redmarketer

October 23, 2008

Eccentricity

Filed under: Human Relations, Personal Branding, School — Robert John Ed @ 1:43 am

Most anyone who knows me well enough can tell you that I’m a little eccentric.  It can be great sometimes, but it’s a double edged sword.

A recent example, I just had an informational interview with a decent sized company in Minneapolis that has interested me for some time.  I went in and spoke with a person in the position that I’d be applying for and the company continued to impress me.  After leaving, I sent a note of gratitude for the time they took to help me out.  Unfortunately, I sent a thank you note that had a kitten on the front of it (which made me laugh when I opened the bundle of cards).  Looking back, it was pretty silly.  But hey, I’m a little silly.

I got some feedback from our school recruiting department that this is not representative of Carlson.  After thinking it over, it’s pretty obvious they’re correct.  Here’s why: a company can’t afford eccentricity.

It’s not that they don’t want people to be themselves.  It’s the simple fact that what their employees say and do is a direct reflection of the products and services they provide.  That means that the professionalism of a major corporation is directly judged through the correspondence of their employees.  Same goes for a school and the students that attend.  One thing that concerns me regarding moving on to a larger corporate structure is picking up the unsaid mores; hopefully situations like this will help me to learn a little faster.  It’s important to attribute these situations to mistakes along the learning curve, but more importantly, not make them again.

1 Comment »

  1. 4c0UHd2EjxxYT

    Comment by Kasey — January 21, 2009 @ 8:45 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

