Redmarketer

December 7, 2008

Finals Week

Filed under: School — Robert John Ed @ 11:29 pm

Sweet jessup, the semester is careening toward an abrupt end.  There are officially three final tests standing between me and a month without class.  Neat.

In retrospect, the seven classes over the core went by very quickly.  Almost all the classes were incredible; the professors really brought a lot to the table (with one notable exception).  So what’s the big deal about business school?  Many people look at it as a necessary evil, something that you have to do in order to get certain positions at larger companies.  That’s true to an extent, big biz marketing simply isn’t an option for people who didn’t get an MBA from a major university.  I used to think that was a problem.  I used to think that someone should be based solely on their merit regardless of their education.  That’s an honorable supposition, but in reality it’s too difficult for companies to cast that wide a net.

Funny thing, when you actually get into the courses, it makes a lot more sense as to why an MBA is so important.  Someone such as myself with barely any knowledge of corporate finance just couldn’t survive in any management capacity.  Sure, I had a rudimentary knowledge based on undergraduate courses, but no where near what I needed.  There are too many necessary pieces of the puzzle that were missing, looking back, it seems pretty obvious I wasn’t as ready as I thought I was. Confidence can lead to arrogance and arrogance to hubris.  The core was a gut check, it pointed out all the areas for improvement.  I’m very happy with Carlson School of Management, it’s been everything I’d hoped for as of yet.  So, if you are thinking of a program for a Master’s, keep it in mind.  If you’d like to speak to me about it, just drop me a line.

What’s next?  Well, I’m really looking forward to my internship for the Business & Community Economic Development.  My last test is the 18th, my first day of work is the 19th.   More to come.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

