Redmarketer

January 17, 2009

Marketers On and Or Around The Interwebbery

Lately the idea of building an audience has been on my mind a lot.  Many people write on the internet with the sole intent to build a decent size audience (20-300k per month) and then start advertising on their site in order to do it for a living.  Other people merely want to be known as an influencer in the industry they work in.  There is absolutely nothing wrong with either of these objectives either, but they aren’t mine.  Building an audience should be an aftereffect of good writing.  And good writing is meant to serve a purpose.

The internet is already in the fourth or fifth stage of sorting through spammers.  I tend to associate with marketers, so I know see a lot of their actions.  It seems as though many of them take the self publishing ability and push it in order to get attention.  This will be drown out in all cases where the published material is of little value to the readers.  So the first reader you have to worry about is you.  Write about things that you care about and make sense.  Then take those things and add on aspects that other people can potentially use.  It sounds pretty basic, but you’d be surprised by the amount of link posts, pet posts and personal information posts out there.  We’re all guilty to an extent, I suppose.

Even some of my absolute favorite bloggers out there have a pretty obvious agenda.  They are pushing something that they’ve endorsed, one way or another.  Yawn.  Only problem is that they’re good enough that value still pervades.

So what is this for?  I always think about it and it’s constantly shifting.  But when I think about audiences, I think that I’d love to have 100 marketers (or friends) that read this and provide feedback here or on their own blogs.  The thoughts aren’t for sale, so big numbers are pretty irrelevant.  This site needs to do a better job of addressing marketing, I know.  It’s mostly a time thing, but that will change at some point.  Thanks for reading and feel free to drop me a line or tell me about what you write sometime, I’d really like to see it.

1 Comment »

  1. I really like your take on things. My situation is that I have been trying for years to make money on the internet and I have just not been able to “get it”. I have spent a lot of money and a lot of time too trying out different stuff. So I decided to start a blog for people like me that have tried all kinds of stuff and don’t get it. The second step is I hope that people that have “real” opportunities will click on the group and say hey this group needs “real” help. Not the regular make thousands from you pc crap. This is my line of thought

    Comment by cliffordillis — July 21, 2009 @ 12:50 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

