Redmarketer

February 5, 2009

Like Sands Through The Hourglass

Filed under: Random — Robert John Ed @ 4:20 am

These are the days of our lives.

It struck me today oddly enough.  I’m growing up and maybe already grown up.  An odd circumstance of inference for a 25 year old who’s lived on his own for roughly 7 years now.  Many would argue that kids grow up much faster today than they did in generations past.  Maybe true in terms of what they’re actually accustomed to seeing.  Violence, sex, drugs, relationships, etc.  It’s all there much faster for the youth today.  Yet I don’t really believe that people are actually growing up faster because exposure is not congruent with understanding and experience.  There are also significant concerns about my generation being self centric and possessing a false sense of entitlement.  We were raised in relative affluence from a generational standpoint and no one really knows the effect of that.  We’ve been named a lot of things already and subject of debate concerning our affinity to stay with our parents again.  And let’s not forget the rise of the quarter life crisis, which seems to stem from the aforementioned affluence and entitlement.  What does it mean?  It seems like a reflection on growing up with everything in relative reach and more philosophical search.  I perfectly understand that not everyone was raised in affluent situations (mine’s not a high horse), but the overall climate within the Western culture was one of growth and relative prosperity.

These things concern me mostly because I live them every day.  Not necessarily in a bad way, I just live and watch everything happening around the people I know and try to understand.  Lately it’s been dawning on me how these days and years are so important and worthwhile to remember even as they happen.  Will my generation prove to be as influential and constructive as those that came before?  I don’t think anyone knows the answer to that.  Do we have the people to do it?  I’ve met plenty that strike me as such.  I’ve met plenty that haven’t.  It will be interesting to watch over the years.

Ask anyone in their late twenties about there teenage years and they’ll probably recollect a lot of fun while simultaneously denoting the fact that they were incredibly naive.  Ask anyone in their late thirties and you’ll get a similar response about their twenties.  So it goes.  

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

