Redmarketer

March 3, 2009

C.R.E.A.M.

Filed under: Digital Distribution, Marketing Tactics, Writing — Robert John Ed @ 5:35 pm

It’s been some time since I’ve followed the marketing talk online.  About a year and a half ago, or sometime around then, it all got really boring.  It became obvious that following what many marketers ran to in droves (fairly recent example, even for teh interwebs) was actually just the herd moving.  Sure it makes a lot of noise, but it’s pretty obvious where it is going and how it will get there:  slowly.  These cats all think themselves ahead of the curve marketing wise, but we can’t all be in the top 20% of drivers, you know?  I don’t consider myself a great driver.  A decent one, sure.  But probably not in the top 20%.  Good thing I don’t do it for a living, eh?

Keeping tabs on what major companies are doing to leverage “new media” is important, I’m not trying to say otherwise.  But all the takes on the most recent blip in the social media strategerati simply isn’t all that interesting.  Sorry.  I know I’m guilty of this in the past as well and I’ll try to temper my writing to avoid it in the future.  Here’s why, it’s easy.  It’s too easy to be valuable for anyone with a pulse.  Tell me when you’ve investigated applying a disruptive idea to an old channel effectively.  Or better yet tell me  when you failed and I can really learn something.

There is no doubt that many of these people are very intelligent and watch closely what is happening.  The problem is that so many opine simultaneously, without any real worry about what actual marketers have to live and breathe day in and day out.  P&L, Sales Revenue & Projections, I/S and actual dollars for a company.  Far too few social media pundits talk about real dollars and increased cash flows due to their marketing efforts.  Much of that information is confidential and for good reason, but there are ways around it.  ROI and EVA are far more interesting to me than RSS or SMS…this coming from a semi-geek.

You may not like it.  You might think me something horrible, but in the world of business, C.R.E.A.M.  Move.

1 Comment »

  1. Get the money! Dolla dolla bill y’all!

    Comment by Taj Bolton — March 3, 2009 @ 10:11 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

