Redmarketer

June 24, 2009

Supersize Me! (No Thanks.)

Filed under: Random — Robert John Ed @ 3:30 am

So last night I watched Supersize Me on Hulu.  If you don’t use Hulu, you should consider it.  It’s a free television service provided by large networks in efforts to combat Youtube and other net video services that don’t allow the networks to monetize their content.  It’s well done and easy to use.

The movie really seemed to develop groundswell a few years ago five years ago!  Time flies, wow.  I haven’t eaten fast food regularly since being in high school, though I do have a Chipotle fetish.  When your young, bullets bounce of you and ten feet is average height.  But something funny happens in college, you realize that you are getting fat.  I ate the equivalent of fast food by subsisting on frozen pizza and fried foods for 80% of meals.  I couldn’t even pronounce “vegetable.”  My food pyramid consisted of cheese, cereals, grilled and fried meats, with a solid base of bacon.  Not to mention beer.  As a sidenote, I usually spent a total of $25 per weekend.  $18 on a case of Labatt Blue and the rest spent on a burrito Sunday during football or baseball games.  Rad.

During junior year it was starting to dawn on me that this lifestyle wasn’t fit (nor were my grades) and I changed.  I started running again.  I worked my butt off to get better grades and really began networking and searching out marketing jobs.  It wasn’t easy, but nothing worthwhile is.  My grades picked up, my eating habits improved.  Yet it took another five years before my bad eating habits were really altered.  This movie really points out the hazards of eating such horrible foods high in saturated fats.  The protagonist begins a thirty day binge on nothing but McDonalds with  clean bill of health and after three weeks is very much under duress as phsyicians are seeing his liver begin to fail and unable to adapt.

It’s not a long film and although I didn’t become disgusted with the corporation as I’d heard from others, it was disturbing.  That year, a few girls attempted to sue McDonald’s for allowing or pursuading them to eat the food every day.  I’m sorry, but at some point it can’t be someone elses fault.  You have to take responsibility for your own body, no matter how hard it may be.

Eating a months worth of fast food breakfast, lunch and morning is quite a feet.  My body would not handle that well and the protagonists didn’t either.  He gained over 20 pounds in 30 days!  His overall health dissipated vastly and the only variable was the food.  A good point was made about how smokers can be berated for their behavior as it’s socially acceptable, but larger people who continually eat poor foods and fail to exercise are off the meat hook.  I wonder when that will change?  Should it?

Either way, it was a decent movie.  Hardly great, but I can see why it hit critical mass and altered some perspectives.  Worth seeing, but only once.  The funny thing about all this?  Fast food generally sucks.  Yet we keep hurding to the trough.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

